Skip to content

DNC Launches Change Commission

  • by

As we reported at the time, the 2008 Democratic National Convention adopted a resolution calling for the new DNC Chair to establish a Democratic Change Commission to consider controversial issues which arose in the 2008 presidential nomination process and recommend changes in that process to the DNC.  The Resolution directed the Commission to move the delegate selection process back so most primaries are spaced out in March and later, reduce the number of  super delegates, and establish new criteria for caucuses.   See Post.

On Monday, DNC Chair Gov. Tim Kaine appointed the 37-member Commission, which will be co-chaired by Congressman James Clyburn (D-SC) and Senator Claire McCaskill (D-MO).   The Commission must issue its report and recommendations to the DNC Rules and Bylaws Committee no later than January 1, 2010.   Gov. Kaine indicated that the Commission will attempt to work with the Republican Party to put voters first.  Commission members from Virginia Democrats are well-represented on the Commission by Hon. Alexis Herman, the former Secretary of Labor who co-chairs the DNC Rules and Bylaws Committee, and Hon. Jennifer McClellan, a member of the Va. House of Delegates who, as DPVA Vice Chair for Organization, is a member of the DNC.   We will post additional information on the Commission as its work proceeds.