

For Immediate Release: Thursday, December 6, 2012

Contact: press@2013pic.org, (202) 350-4260

2013 Presidential Inaugural Committee Launches, Announces Preliminary Schedule of Events for Inaugural Weekend and Inauguration Co-Chairs

WASHINGTON – Today the 2013 Presidential Inaugural Committee (PIC) announced its official launch, preliminary schedule of events and co-chairs for the second Inaugural of President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden.

The 57th Presidential Inaugural weekend will kick off with a National Day of Service, a tradition started by the Obamas at the President's first Inauguration in 2009. President Obama will ask Americans across the country to organize and participate in service projects in their communities on Saturday, January 19th, to honor our shared values and celebrate the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. President Obama, First Lady Michelle Obama, Vice President Biden, Dr. Jill Biden and members of the President's Cabinet will participate in service projects in the Washington, DC area. In keeping with tradition for Inauguration Days that fall on a Sunday, the President will participate in a small private swearing-in ceremony on January 20. The President's public swearing-in, the parade and the official Inaugural balls will take place on Monday, January 21.

The PIC also announced the co-chairs and honorary co-chairs for the Inauguration. More details about official Inaugural events and the Presidential Inaugural Committee's theme for its events will be announced in the coming weeks.

"Vice President Biden and I are grateful to these distinguished women and men for agreeing to serve as co-chairs and honorary co-chairs, including Presidents from both sides of the aisle who have dedicated their lives to serving the American people," said President Obama. "This year's Inaugural will reflect our belief that working together, we can keep moving our country forward and fulfill the promise of the American Dream for all families."

The honorary co-chairs for the 2013 Presidential Inaugural Committee are:

President Jimmy Carter, 39th President of the United States President George H.W. Bush, 41st President of the United States President Bill Clinton, 42nd President of the United States President George W. Bush, 43rd President of the United States

The co-chairs for the 2013 Presidential Inaugural Committee are:

Ambassador Matthew Barzun, National Finance Chair of President Obama's reelection campaign and former Ambassador to Sweden

Eva Longoria, Actress, Obama for America Campaign Co-Chair and Founder of the Eva Longoria Foundation

Jane Stetson, National Finance Chair of the Democratic National Committee Frank White, former member of the National Advisory Council on Minority Business Enterprises

In addition, the PIC announced the following positions:

Jim Messina, Chair, Inaugural Parade Stephanie Cutter, Chair, PIC Board of Directors Jen O'Malley Dillon, Chair, National Day of Service Julianna Smoot, Chair, Inaugural Balls and Receptions Rufus Gifford, Chair, PIC Finance Patrick Gaspard, Chair, National Mall

The staff for the 57th Presidential Inauguration will be led by Stephen J. Kerrigan, who will serve as Chief Executive Officer, and David J. Cusack, who will serve as Executive Director.

The Presidential Inaugural Committee will work closely with the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies (JCCIC) which oversees the ceremonial swearing-in on the west steps of the Capitol and other Inaugural activities that occur on the Capitol grounds, and the Joint Task Force National Capital Region (JTF-NCR) the military joint force command composed of all five branches of the United States armed services that oversees security for all official Inaugural-related events.

More information on the 2013 Presidential Inaugural Committee can be found at www.2013pic.org and on Twitter @obamainaugural.

###